/ Previews

The Collective Works of Hayao Miyazaki Blu-ray Set

Coming up this November, Disney is finally releasing a Blu-ray set of all of Hayao Miyazaki’s work. The Japanese animation deity and co-founder of Studio Ghibli, Hayao Miyazaki has done leaps and bounds for the anime community, as well as humanity as a whole. His creations range from the heartwarming adventures like My Neighbor Totoro to the deep, dark movies like Mononoke Hime.

Due to release on November 27th, this Blu-ray set will include: Lupin The Third: The Castle Of Cagliostro, Nausicaä Of The Valley Of The Wind, Castle In The Sky, My Neighbor Totoro, Kiki’s Delivery Service, Porco Rosso, Princess Mononoke, Spirited Away, Howl’s Moving Castle, Ponyo, and The Wind Rises. Each film in the set is a timeless classic. Of course, there will also be several bonuses to go along with the set of films. Miyazaki’s entire retirement press conference, artbooks, episodes of anime that Miyazaki directed, and other information on Miyazaki’s career.  As you might expect, this set comes with a hefty price tag: $250. It is only available on Amazon, and pre-ordering will knock $25 off the price tag. The only unfortunate part about the set is that the movies will only include the dubbed versions. For some, this may be quite a discouragement.

All in all, this looks to be a promising set of movies, lets go over the facts of the Hayao Miyazaki Blu-ray Set:

  • Releases on November 27th
  • Costs $250 (or $225 with pre-order)
  • Contains 11 films, plus extras
  • Will only have the American dubbed versions
  • Looks amazing




Addison is a 23 year old web developer in Grand Rapids, MI. He enjoys cooking, board games, and hunting the most dangerous game. His favorite anime, aside from all of them, is Hunter X Hunter, maybe.

Read More